Product Review: Elizabeth Arden ‘Day-To-Date’ 2015 Make-Up Collection – and Swatches!

Hi all!

So I have decided to share my thoughts on the current 2015 Blockbuster ‘Day-To-Date’ Collection by Elizabeth Arden – released just in time for Christmas 2015 🙂

Background on the product includes:

  • Price = $99
  • Total Value = $585

SO straight off you are getting good value for your money and the amount of products you get in the set.

The Day To Date Colour Collection contains:

  • Day Palette Compact: for natural, nude and delicately emphasised daytime eyes and cheeks.
    Contains: Eight Beautiful Colour Eye Shadows: Blonde, Chocolate, Misty, Teal, Innocence, Classic Khaki, Cobblestone, Periwinkle and Beautiful Colour Radiance Blush: Romantic Rose
  • Night Palette Compact: with a touch of drama, light up your night looks and draw attention to those beautiful eyes.
    Contains: Eight Beautiful Colour Eye Shadows: Party Plum, Blackout, Night Owl, Spotlight, Bone, Pearled Kiss, Tempting Teal, Gold Rush
    Beautiful Colour Radiance Blush in Blushing Pink
  • 4 x Beautiful Colour Moisturising Lipsticks: Iced Grape, Desert Rose, Raspberry and Ultra Violet (3.5g)
  • 2 x Beautiful Colour Luminous Lip Gloss: Precious Petal and Passion Fruit (4ml)
  • 2 x Lip Pencils: Orchid and Sugared Kiss (1.1g)
  • 2 x Eye Pencils: Midnight and Smokey Black (1.1g)
  • Elizabeth Arden Shimmer Powder: Gold (5g)
  • Beautiful Colour Lash Enhancing Mascara: Black (7ml)
  • All Gone Eye and Lip Make-up Remover 50ml
  • 3 Piece Brush Set: containing a blush brush, angled eye contour brush, and a flat shader brush.
  • Red Patent Train case

 

Continuing on…

I purchased this from my favourite online make-up store [AdoreBeauty.com] when it first came out a couple of months ago. (I call them the Australian version of Sephora 🙂

Now that I’ve had a while to really test and use the products, I have my review below :

Eye Shadow Palettes and Swatches:

image
image
image
image

image
image

image
image
Photo 21-12-2015, 4 03 10 PM

image
image
image

Final Thoughts

With the eye shadows I was overall disappointed. The colour wasn’t very pigmented and was difficult to build up and blend, and the mattes were very chalky and thin. The blushes on the other hand were very pretty and had a gorgeous glow with fine shimmer in the consistency.

 

Lipsticks

The lipsticks that come in the set are called: Desert Rose, Iced Grape, Raspberry and Ultra Violet. They go on smoothly with plenty of pigment and don’t feel drying. They last a reasonable amount of time and have a slight scent. I’ve been very happy with these – My Favourite is Desert Rose – Its the only Nude colour I’ve found that doesn’t wash me out of colour, and it has a light gold shimmer.

Photo 21-12-2015, 3 06 05 PM

image

image
Photo 21-12-2015, 3 07 44 PM
image

Ultra Violet, Raspberry, Iced Grape, Desert Rose

Ultra Violet, Raspberry, Iced Grape, Desert Rose

 

Mascara

Called the ‘Beautiful Colour Lash Enhancing Mascara’, This has ended up being my HOLY GRAIL mascara. I was a bit unsure of the brush at first, as I am used to bigger, thicker wands but this one has tiny little hooks on the ends so really grabs and builds the lashes quickly and easily to get the thick full lash look I’m after, it is also very pigmented! Compared to my last review on the Too Faced ‘Better Than Sex’ mascara, this totally beats it! – No crumbling, and easier to apply with the smaller wand, and dries quickly. This is such a winner I now suggest this to everyone!! You can get it here at Adore Beauty (With free Postage!)

image

Photo 21-12-2015, 3 15 24 PM

 

Eye Liners and Lip Liners

In the set you get two eye liners in “Midnight”(dark blue) and “Smokey Black” and two lip liners in “Sugared Kiss” and “Orchid”.

Both of these delivered great results. They drew on exceptionally smoothly and with plenty of pigment.

Photo 21-12-2015, 3 12 06 PM
image

Midnight, Smokey Black

Midnight, Smokey Black

Photo 21-12-2015, 3 10 28 PM
image

Sugared Kiss, Orchid

Sugared Kiss, Orchid

 

 

Brushes

The Collection comes with three brushes;  a blush brush, angled eye contour brush, and a flat shader brush. Two out of three of these are great – The blusher works well at picking up and easily distributing the colour, and the eye contour brush (that I like to use for blending) works lovely. They both have the right bristle consistently for my uses, but the flat shader brush I find very difficult to use. The bristles seem too thick to pick up the eye shadow and when you’re trying to apply it the shadow flicks everywhere. I may be using it for its wrong purpose, but it doesn’t work for me, in the way I would use/need it.

image

 

Eye-Make Up Remover

This stuff is amazing!! so gentle, quick and effective – the best one I own for removing waterproof mascara! – Would buy again!

image
image

 

Shimmer Powder

This was also a disappointment for me. It was difficult to pick up and blend, and I found it quite chunky! not a lovely fine shimmer unless you really broke it down on the skin after applying it. Once really blended out (which took too long IMO) it did have a gorgeous gold, glowing shimmer, but all the negatives in the first place made it just not worth it to me. I ended up giving this away.

image
image
image
image

 

Lip Glosses

These are so pretty and high quality! Very fine shimmer, applied easily with a doe foot applicator and isn’t sticky. They lasted for a reasonable amount of time as well. I’m not much of a lip gloss fan in general, but I do really like using these. They have a light smell, arent too sticky or thick, and comes out in small amounts so its not ‘glooping’ around everywhere. And the smaller size makes it perfect for your purse! Very happy!!

 image
image
image

Precious Petal, Passion Fruit

Precious Petal, Passion Fruit

Photo 21-12-2015, 3 14 36 PM
Photo 21-12-2015, 3 14 44 PM

 

In Conclusion

Positives

  • Mascara
  • 2 of the Brushes
  • Lipsticks
  • Eye liner
  • Lip liner
  • Eye  make up remover
  • The train case
  • Lip glosses
  • Blushes

Negatives

  • Eye shadows
  • Gold shimmer powder
  • one of the brushes was impossible to use for shadow application

I am happy with what I got for the value, and I will definitely buy the make-up remover and mascara again. The value is excellent, but I was quite disappointed in the quality of the powder pigment products. Given that the eye-shadow palettes seem to be the most important part of a collection like this, I was really surprised at the poor quality. But given the other products and their quality – my money wasn’t wasted.

 

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!

  • have you purchased this collection?
  • what have your experiences been?

 

-> STAY TUNED FOR ANOTHER PALETTE REVIEW COMING SOON ->

 

/avis de maquillage: Elizabeth Arden/

 

Love,

Ellena Rosalyn  -xx-

 

*DISCLAIMER* – This is NOT a Sponsored Post – I just really love the Adore Beauty brand, service, website and the fact they are Australian owned and based and genuinely buy my beauty products from there when possible 🙂 -xx-

Follow:
Share:

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *